HMS - Built By Philanthropy

High Mowing School was born and grew through the exemplary patronage of its founder, Mrs. Emmet. Generosity continues to define and shape HMS’s vibrant and unique character, and is evident in the scholarships that help make HMS accessible.

We are proud to support our deserving high school students with our scholarship program. Since 2012, HMS has granted over $700,000 in scholarships, enabling accomplished high school students to join us and contribute their talents, enthusiasm, and passion for learning.

HMS awards scholarships to enthusiastic, committed, and resilient high school students who demonstrate their commitment to activities they are passionate about. Download the HMS Scholarship Application here.

Scholarship applications are considered in addition to applications for financial aid. All prospective high school students are eligible to submit a scholarship application; if you also want to be considered for financial aid, please be sure to complete that separate process as well.

Scholarships Granted

  • $700,000 since 2012

List of 10 items.

  • Abby YANDELL ’10 Scholarship

    Honoring the memory of a compassionate and talented young alumna, this scholarship supports HMS grade 8 students who display empathy for others and need of financial assistance to attend HMS high school.
  • Alexandra BARNES Norton '57 Memorial Scholarship

    This scholarship fund honors the memory of a High Mowing alumna by offering financial support to students who share Alexandra's passions: Biology and Ornithology.
  • Ann Friedl Scholarship

    Honoring the memory of a long-serving High Mowing teacher, the Ann Friedl scholarship assists the siblings, children, grandchildren or other relatives of High Mowing alumni.
  • Beulah Hepburn Emmet Scholarship

    For 38 years, HMS founder Mrs. Emmet welcomed students from across the country and around the world, offering scholarships to new and returning students who  otherwise could not attend. The Beulah Hepburn Emmet scholarship continues her tradition of generosity.
  • Diversity Scholarship

    The Diversity scholarship assists students from diverse cultural backgrounds who demonstrate a strong desire to attend High Mowing School and need financial support.
  • Founders Merit Scholarship

    In 2012, HMS Board of Trustees created the Founders Merit Scholarship in honor of Mrs. Emmet and the people who supported her in establishing and growing High Mowing. The competitive Founders Merit scholarship recognizes academically exceptional students with excellent character as demonstrated through their academic achievement, activities, and community service. Awards are available to new students applying to grade 9, or to grade 10 if coming from a school where the program ends in grade 9.
  • H. Lee ROWELL ’45 Memorial Scholarship

    The H. Lee Rowell memorial scholarship supports new and returning students in good academic standing who deserve special recognition.
  • Music Fund in Memory of David ANDERSON '96

    In honor of a High Mowing alumnus and gifted cellist, our Music Fund supports activities that enhance HMS musical life, including students’ training and extracurricular musical activities. 
  • Robert PITTMAN ’44 Scholarship

    Founded in memory of a High Mowing alumnus and dedicated teacher, the Robert Pittman scholarship supports students who demonstrate a strong interest in forestry, woodworking, agriculture, or land-based activities.
  • Sandy Brooks Scholarship

    In remembrance of a dedicated teacher and alumni parent, the Sandy Brooks scholarship assists returning High Mowing students in good academic standing.


Please contact the Admissions Office!

High Mowing School

222 Isaac Frye Highway, Wilton NH 03086
(603) 654-2391 phone     (603) 654-6588 fax
Founded in 1942, High Mowing School is an accredited Waldorf co-educational school serving day, boarding, and homestay students in Wilton, NH, from early childhood through grade 12. HMS is a place to grow intellectually, artistically, and socially while living and learning with students from across town and around the world.  Accredited by NEASC and AWSNA (high school current; lower school in process).